32 Ways to Turn Leftover Chicken Into Delicious New Meals, Prepping for Emergencies: How to Smartly Use Your Stocked Pantry. Pour the seasoned flour into a large brown paper bag. You may need to coat them in batches, if they don't all fit in the mixture at once. Spray again with the cooking spray after turning. Use of baking powder is also an important point which I think we should discuss quickly. A self-taught cook and self-appointed foodie, she specializes in easy, flavorful and approachable recipes for any home cook. Her work includes writing city profiles for Groupon. Remove the fried chicken from the hot oil when the pieces are done with a slotted spoon and place them on a flattened paper bag to drain, or on a wire rack on top of a baking sheet. Simple to whip up and so much healthier than frying, these crispy chicken legs will be your new go-to for dinner. I like to keep my recipes simple, not requiring a ton of steps, but for even juicier chicken you could soak the drumsticks for a couple of hours in buttermilk. Under convection mode, hot air circulates inside the oven uniformly which helps in achieving the crispiness of outer skin. The 30-minute blast of high heat will make the skin so crispy that it will look and taste like deep-fried or pan-fried. If you don’t have convection mode in your oven, you can still do this with slight adjustments. Taste of Home is America's #1 cooking magazine. Have the seasoned flour mixture and chicken ready to go before putting the baking pan with the butter in the oven so you can watch the butter carefully to be sure it doesn't burn. Use a meat thermometer to check the internal temperature of the chicken before removing it from the oven. Fill a wide bowl with buttermilk. Use a wire baking rack oven a … As you would notice in the recipe instructions below, I have recommended using convection mode of your oven while baking these chicken thighs. This can easily be your weeknight go-to chicken dinner; the effort is minimal, the